Shopping Cart

BOA Blog

Recent Blog Posts

Year of the Dog named a finalist for the 2021 Firecracker Awards

We are proud to announce that Year of the Dog by Deborah Paredez has been named a finalist for the 2021 Firecracker Award for Poetry! The Community of Literary Magazines and Presses (CLMP) announced the finalists for this year's Firecracker Awards on their website this morning, May 10, 2021. Deborah Paredez's Year of the Dog is a Blessing the Boats Selection that tells her story as a Latina daughter of the Vietnam War. The title refers to the year 1970—the Year of the Metal Dog in the lunar calendar—which was the year of the author’s birth, the year her father prepared to deploy to Vietnam...

Read more →

Jillian Weise wins PEN Oakland Josephine Miles Award

BOA is delighted to share the news that Jillian Weise has won a PEN Oakland Josephine Miles Award for Excellence. PEN Oakland announced the winners of the 2020 Josephine Miles Awards via a press release on October 22, 2020. The PEN Oakland Josephine Miles Awards, named for the late poet and Professor at The University of California at Berkeley, were created to provide recognition for outstanding literary achievement from the entire spectrum of America’s diverse literary community. Seven poets received Josephine Miles Awards in 2020. For more information about PEN Oakland and the PEN Oakland Josephine Miles Awards, visit the PEN Oakland...

Read more →

Derrick Austin wins the Isabella Gardner Award

Rochester, NY — BOA Editions is excited to announce that Derrick Austin has been awarded the Isabella Gardner Poetry Award for his  collection Tenderness, which is forthcoming from BOA in fall 2021 within the American Poets Continuum Series. “I'm grateful to receive the Isabella Gardner Award and be among such fantastic company. I'm awed every time a reader finds some joy, a little something for themselves, in these poems of queer friendship,” said Austin. The Isabella Gardner Award carries an honorarium of $1,000 and is given biennially to a poet with a new book of exceptional merit. BOA Publisher Peter...

Read more →

Geffrey Davis Wins 2020 Porter Literary Fund Prize

BOA Editions is delighted to share the news that Geffrey Davis has won the 2020 Porter Literary Fund Prize. The Porter Fund Literary Prize announced the news via a press release on September 25, 2020. "Several of my local heroes have received this award, so I was aware of the Porter Fund Literary Prize prior to this news. I am deeply and dearly honored to have my own voice added to such a prestigious legacy of Arkansas writers," said Davis. Geffrey Davis is the author of Night Angler (BOA, 2019), winner of the James Laughlin Award, and Revising the Storm (BOA Editions 2014), winner of the A. Poulin,...

Read more →

The Tiny Journalist wins WLT Book Award for Poetry

Rochester, N.Y. — BOA Editions is delighted to announce that The Tiny Journalist by Naomi Shihab Nye has been selected as the Poetry Winner for the 2019 Writers’ League of Texas Book Awards. The Writers' League of Texas announced the winners of the 2019 WLT Book Awards this morning in their newsletter. The Tiny Journalist is Naomi Shihab Nye’s fifth poetry collection from BOA Editions. It was named a Best Poetry Book of 2019 by The Washington Post and previously won the 2020 Helen C. Smith Memorial Award for Best Book of Poetry from the Texas Institute of Letters. The collection...

Read more →

Search Blog Posts