Shopping Cart

BOA Blog

Recent Blog Posts

Craig Morgan Teicher wins 2022 Paterson Poetry Prize

 Rochester, N.Y. — BOA Editions is pleased to share that Welcome to Sonnetville, New Jersey by Craig Morgan Teicher is the winner of the 2022 Paterson Poetry Prize. The Paterson Poetry Prize is sponsored by The Poetry Center at Passaic County Community College. It is a $1,000 award for a book of poems, 48 pages or more in length, selected by our judges as the strongest collection of poems published in 2021. Teicher will be give a poetry reading and workshop at Poetry Center on April 1, 2023. To learn more about the Prize and see the list of finalists, please visit the Paterson Poetry...

Read more →

Matt Morton Wins Philosophical Society of Texas Book Prize for Poetry

Rochester, N.Y. — The Philosophical Society of Texas announced Monday, February 7, 2022 that Matt Morton’s Improvisation Without Accompaniment (BOA Editions, 2020) is the winner for the annual Philosophical Society of Texas Book Prize in Poetry. The prize, consisting of a $2,500 purse, honors a book of poetry that must either be about Texas or have been written by an author who has resided in or who was born within the boundaries of the Republic of Texas as claimed in 1836. Selected by Patricia Smith as winner of the 2018 A. Poulin, Jr. Poetry Prize, Matt Morton’s debut poetry collection...

Read more →

George Looney wins the 11th annual BOA Short Fiction Prize

Rochester, New York –– BOA Editions, Ltd. is pleased to announce that George Looney is the winner of the eleventh annual BOA Short Fiction Prize for his collection The Visibility of Things Long Submerged. BOA Publisher Peter Conners selected the winning manuscript. Looney will receive a $1,000 honorarium and book publication by BOA Editions, Ltd. within the American Reader Series in spring 2023. “I am very pleased, and honored, that my next collection of fiction will be published by BOA Editions. I have long admired BOA Editions, and have been buying and enjoying books they have published from back when...

Read more →

Year of the Dog wins the WLT Book Award for Poetry

 BOA Editions is delighted to announce that Year of the Dog by Deborah Paredez has been selected as the Poetry Winner for the 2020 Writers’ League of Texas Book Awards.

Read more →

Letters to a Young Brown Girl named a finalist for the 2021 California Book Awards

We are excited to share the news that Letters to a Young Brown Girl by Barbara Jane Reyes has been named a finalist for the 2021 California Book Award for Poetry! The Commonwealth Club of California announced the finalists in a press release on May 18, 2021. “The California Book Awards has been honoring California books and authors for nine decades,” commented Award Jury Chair, Peter Fish. “We think this year’s finalists are especially timely, innovative, and thought-provoking.” Barbara Jane Reyes's Letters to a Young Brown Girl is a Blessing the Boats Selection that answers the questions of Filipino American girls and young women...

Read more →

Search Blog Posts