Shopping Cart

BOA Blog

← Back to All Posts

George Looney wins the 11th annual BOA Short Fiction Prize

Rochester, New York –– BOA Editions, Ltd. is pleased to announce that George Looney is the winner of the eleventh annual BOA Short Fiction Prize for his collection The Visibility of Things Long Submerged. BOA Publisher Peter Conners selected the winning manuscript. Looney will receive a $1,000 honorarium and book publication by BOA Editions, Ltd. within the American Reader Series in spring 2023.

“I am very pleased, and honored, that my next collection of fiction will be published by BOA Editions. I have long admired BOA Editions, and have been buying and enjoying books they have published from back when Al Poulin, Jr. was the editor,” said Looney.

In addition to the winning manuscript, four runners-up were also selected:

The Visibility of Things Long Submerged by George Looney


Death to the Daylight People by Joshua Bell
Boundless as the Sky by Dawn Raffel
Alternative Facts & Other Fictions by Emily Greenberg
Animalia: A Bestiary by Todd Seabrook

George Looney’s books include Ode to the Earth in Translations (poems), a collection of stories, The Worst May Be Over, which won the Elixir Press Fiction Award, The Itinerate Circus: New and Selected Poems 1995-2020, the Red Mountain Press Poetry Award-winning What Light Becomes: The Turner Variations, the novel Report from a Place of Burning which was co-winner of The Leapfrog Press Fiction Award, and the poetry collections Meditations Before the Windows Fail, Structures the Wind Sings Through, Monks Beginning to Waltz, A Short Bestiary of Love and Madness, Open Between Us, The Precarious Rhetoric of Angels (winner of the White Pine Poetry Prize), Attendant Ghosts, and Animals Housed in the Pleasure of Flesh (winner of The Bluestem Award). He is the founder of the BFA in Creative Writing Program at Penn State Erie, where he teaches creative writing and literature, editor of the international literary journal Lake Effect, translation editor of Mid-American Review, and co-founder of the original Chautauqua Writers’ Festival.

BOA Editions will accept manuscripts for the 12th annual BOA Short Fiction Prize between April 1 and May 31, 2022. An entry form and a $25 fee are required. Complete guidelines for the BOA Short Fiction Prize are available at

Purchase options
Select a purchase option to pre order this product
Countdown header
Countdown message