Shopping Cart

BOA Blog

← Back to All Posts

This Wednesday is the Last Day to Enter the A. Poulin, Jr. Poetry Prize!

[caption id="attachment_1407" align="alignleft" width="300" caption="Cornelius Eady."]Cornelius Eady.[/caption] Wednesday will be the last day that you will be able to submit your manuscript for this year's A. Poulin, Jr. Poetry Prize. Named after BOA Editions Founder Al Poulin, Jr. who championed the under-appreciated voices in poetry, the winner of the Poetry Prize will receive a $1,500 honorarium and be published as part of our A. Poulin, Jr. New Poets of America Series in Spring 2013. Recent winners of the A. Poulin, Jr. Poetry Prize include Deborah Brown, Keetje  Kuipers, Jennifer Kronovet, Dan Albergotti and Janice N. Harrington. Recipients of the prize have gone on to receive such awards as the Kate Tufts Discovery Award and, most recently, the New Hampshire Literary Award for "Outstanding Book of Poetry." This year we are thrilled to have Cornelius Eady as our final judge. Born in Rochester, NY Cornelius Eady has received fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts, and co-founded with Toi Derricote the important Cave Canem.  He is the author of eight books:   Hardheaded Weather (G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2008); Brutal Imagination (2001), a finalist for the 2001 National Book Award in Poetry; the autobiography of a jukebox (1997); You Don't Miss Your Water (1995); The Gathering of My Name (1991), nominated for the Pulitzer Prize; BOOM BOOM BOOM (1988); Victims of the Latest Dance Craze (1985),  selected by The Academy of American Poets for the Lamont Poetry Selection; and Kartunes (1980).  You can read more about Cornelius Eady here. Don't wait or you will miss your chance to enter! For more information and a copy of our submission form, please read our Guidelines. Good Luck!
Purchase options
Select a purchase option to pre order this product
Countdown header
Countdown message