Shopping Cart

BOA Blog

Recent Blog Posts

Bringing Threads Together: An Interview with Gabrielle Lucille Fuentes

Gabrielle Lucille Fuentes is the author of Are We Ever Our Own, which was published by BOA Editions on May 24, 2022 and won the BOA Short Fiction Prize. Moving between Cuba and the U.S., the stories in Are We Ever Our Own trace the paths of the women of the far-flung Armando Castell family. Learn more about Fuentes and her work through this exclusive self-interview!   What inspired the stories in this collection? These stories are wide ranging in terms of genre, time period, style, focus, but many of them were inspired by the work of visual and performance artists. I would fall in love with...

Read more →

The World Between: An Interview with Dustin Pearson

Dustin Pearson is the author of A Season in Hell with Rimbaud, which was published by BOA Editions on May 10, 2022. In A Season in Hell with Rimbaud, a man traverses the fantastical and grotesque landscape of Hell in pursuit of his brother, pondering their now fractured relationship. Learn more about Dustin and his work through this exclusive self-interview! At the beginning of A Season in Hell with Rimbaud, readers learn that the speaker’s Hell is a state of mind first entered into while tossing a balloon to his older brother. Not long after that, readers learn just how otherwise charged that memory is, but perhaps just...

Read more →

Craig Morgan Teicher wins 2022 Paterson Poetry Prize

 Rochester, N.Y. — BOA Editions is pleased to share that Welcome to Sonnetville, New Jersey by Craig Morgan Teicher is the winner of the 2022 Paterson Poetry Prize. The Paterson Poetry Prize is sponsored by The Poetry Center at Passaic County Community College. It is a $1,000 award for a book of poems, 48 pages or more in length, selected by our judges as the strongest collection of poems published in 2021. Teicher will be give a poetry reading and workshop at Poetry Center on April 1, 2023. To learn more about the Prize and see the list of finalists, please visit the Paterson Poetry...

Read more →

Noticing Practice: An Interview with Heather Sellers

Heather Sellers is the author of Field Notes from the Flood Zone, which was published by BOA Editions on April 26, 2022. Sprung from her daily observation journals, haunted by ghosts from the past, this collection is an elegy for the two great shaping forces in a life: heartbreaking family struggle and a collective lost treasure, our stunning, singular, desecrated Florida, and all its remnant beauty. Read on to learn more about Heather, her newest poetry collection, and her writing process! What is your process for writing a poem? Work by eye. Write by hand. Write every day. Read a lot. Most...

Read more →

Margaret Ray wins the 21st Annual A. Poulin, Jr. Poetry Prize

Rochester, NY—BOA Editions, Ltd. is pleased to announce that Margaret Ray of Lawrenceville, NJ is the winner of the 21st annual A. Poulin, Jr. Poetry Prize. Her winning manuscript, Good Grief, the Ground, was selected by celebrated poet and writer Stephanie Burt from a pool of more than X original submissions. Good Grief, the Ground will be published by BOA Editions in April 2023 as part of the New Poets of America Series with a foreword by Stephanie Burt. Ray will also receive a $1,000 honorarium.  "It's hard to stay present in this world: to stay not only alive but alert—to the Florida thunder,...

Read more →

Search Blog Posts