Shopping Cart

BOA Blog

← Back to All Posts

Geffrey Davis Wins 2020 Porter Literary Fund Prize

Geffrey Davis

BOA Editions is delighted to share the news that Geffrey Davis has won the 2020 Porter Literary Fund Prize. The Porter Fund Literary Prize announced the news via a press release on September 25, 2020.

"Several of my local heroes have received this award, so I was aware of the Porter Fund Literary Prize prior to this news. I am deeply and dearly honored to have my own voice added to such a prestigious legacy of Arkansas writers," said Davis.

Geffrey Davis is the author of Night Angler (BOA, 2019), winner of the James Laughlin Award, and Revising the Storm (BOA Editions 2014), winner of the A. Poulin, Jr. Poetry Prize and a Hurston/Wright Legacy Award Finalist. A native of the Pacific Northwest, Davis teaches for the University of Arkansas MFA in Creative Writing & Translation and The Rainier Writing Workshop low-res MFA program at Pacific Lutheran University. He also serves as the poetry editor of Iron Horse Literary Review. For more information about Geffrey Davis, visit

The Porter Fund Literary Prize is presented annually to "an Arkansas writer with a substantial and impressive body of work that merits enhanced recognition." Established in 1984, the Porter Fund Literary Prize was founded by novelists Jack Butler and Phil McMath to honor Dr. Ben Kimpe, who taught English at the University of Arkansas at Fayettville. The prize is administered by the Porter Fund Literary Prize, a non-profit organization supporting Arkansas writers and poets. Previous winners include Mara Leveritt, Morris Arnold, Kevin Brockmeier and current Arkansas poet laureate Jo McDougall.

Davis will receive the $2,000 prize during a virtual award ceremony, via Zoom, at 7 p.m. Oct. 22.

Congratulations, Geffrey!


Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published