Shopping Cart

BOA Blog

← Back to All Posts

Naomi Shihab Nye Finalist for 2022 Neustadt International Prize for Literature

Rochester, NY — Naomi Shihab Nye has been selected as a finalist for the 2022 Neustadt International Prize for Literature. Often referred to as “the American Nobel,” the Neustadt International Prize is a biennial international literary award sponsored by the University of Oklahoma and managed by the university's literary magazine, World Literature Today. Nye was nominated for this honor by the poet Tarfia Faizullah.

Robert Con Davis-Undiano, prize sponsor and Executive Director of World Literature Today, said of this year’s nominees, “Literature is a key component of our ability to recognize what makes us human, and the work of the Neustadt jury year after year is a contemporary tribute to the critical place that literature has in our lives.”

Like the Nobel, the Neustadt International Prize honors an entire body of work. Nye has received tremendous acclaim for her poetry, which frequently discusses her Palestinian-American heritage and advocates for peaceful communication across boundaries. Her latest collection, The Tiny Journalist (BOA, 2019), won the Writers' League of Texas Book Award for Poetry and the Helen C. Smith Memorial Award for Best Book of Poetry from the Texas Institute of Letters and was featured in publications such as Publishers Weekly, The New York Times, NPR, and more.    

Naomi Shihab Nye is the author and/or editor of more than thirty books, including five collections of poetry from BOA: Red Suitcase (1994), Fuel (1998), You & Yours (2005), Transfer (2011), and The Tiny Journalist (2019). She has been a Lannan Fellow, a Guggenheim Fellow and a Witter Bynner Fellow. Her numerous awards include a Lavan Award from the Academy of American Poets, the Isabella Gardner Poetry Award from BOA, the Lee Bennett Hopkins Poetry Award, the Patterson Poetry Prize, four Pushcart Prizes, the Robert Creeley Prize the Betty Prize from Poets House, and the Lon Tinkle Award for Lifetime Achievement from the Texas Institute of Letters. She served on the Board of Chancellors of the Academy of American Poets from 2010–2015, and is the Poetry Foundation’s 2019–2021 Young People's Poet Laureate.

The Neustadt International Prize for Literature is the first international literary award of its scope to originate in the United States and is one of very few international prizes for which poets, novelists, and playwrights are equally eligible. The award consists of a $50,000 prize, a replica of an eagle feather cast in silver, and a certificate. This year’s winner will be announced at the 2021 Neustadt Lit Fest, scheduled for October 25–27. Additional information about the Neustadt International Prize, this year's judging panel, and a full list of finalists is available at

BOA Editions, Ltd. is a Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award-winning not-for-profit publisher based in Rochester, New York. Founded in 1976 by the late poet, editor, and translator A. Poulin, Jr. to provide a venue for both new and established poets to be published, BOA has released more than 300 titles, including more than two dozen books of poetry-in-translation. Learn more about BOA Editions at

Purchase options
Select a purchase option to pre order this product
Countdown header
Countdown message