Shopping Cart

BOA Blog

← Back to All Posts

Gabrielle Lucille Fuentes wins the 10th annual BOA Short Fiction Prize

Gabrielle Lucille Fuentes

Rochester, New York –– BOA Editions, Ltd. is pleased to announce that Gabrielle Lucille Fuentes is the winner of the tenth annual BOA Short Fiction Prize for her collection Are We Ever Our Own. Fuentes will receive a $1,000 honorarium and book publication by BOA Editions, Ltd. within the American Reader Series in spring 2022.

BOA Publisher Peter Conners selected the winning manuscript. Conners said of the winning manuscript, "Gabrielle Lucille Fuentes weaves richly detailed stories brimming with magic, hauntings, and the multi-generational mythologies we build around our lives. Are We Ever Our Own transports readers to a world that is unsettling, familiar, and utterly intoxicating. I am thrilled to select this collection as winner of BOA’s tenth annual Short Fiction Prize."

In addition to the winning manuscript, two finalists were also selected:

Are We Ever Our Own by Gabrielle Lucille Fuentes

There Is Only Us: Stories by Zoe Ballering
Future Perfect by Matthew Babcock

Gabrielle Lucille Fuentes is the author of The Sleeping World. She has received fellowships from Yaddo, Hedgebrook, the Millay Colony, and the Blue Mountain Center. Her short fiction has appeared in One Story, The New England Review, The Common, Cosmonauts Avenue, Slice, Pank, and elsewhere. She teaches creative writing and Latinx literature at the University of Maryland.

BOA Editions will accept manuscripts for the 11th annual BOA Short Fiction Prize between April 1 and May 31, 2021. An entry form and a $25 fee are required. Complete guidelines for the BOA Short Fiction Prize are available at


Purchase options
Select a purchase option to pre order this product
Countdown header
Countdown message