Shopping Cart

BOA Blog

← Back to All Posts

REVISING THE STORM a nominee for Hurston/Wright Legacy Award

RevisingTheStorm_Bookstore Geffrey Davis' Revising the Storm (BOA, 2014) is a nominee for the 2015 HURSTON/WRIGHT LEGACY AWARD for Poetry, from the Hurston/Wright Foundation. “The Hurston/Wright Legacy Awards annually honor published works of fiction, nonfiction and poetry by Black writers published in the previous year. Recognized as a singular award from the Black writing community to its peers, the Legacy Awards each year recognizes members of the national and international Black writing community.” The winners of the 2015 Hurston/Wright Legacy Awards for Fiction, Nonfiction, and Poetry will be announced on October 23, 2015, in Washington, D.C. “By honoring these authors, [the foundation recognizes] the profound significance, necessity, and genius of Black writers and the stories they tell.” Revising the Storm is among five other Poetry nominees for the 2015 award, including We Didn't Know Any Gangsters by Brian Gilmore (Cherry Castle Publishing); Digest by Gregory Pardlo (Four Way Books); The Essential Hits of Shorty Bon Bon by Willie Perdomo (Penguin Books); Citizen: An American Lyric by Claudia Rankine (Graywolf Press); and King Me by Roger Reeves (Copper Canyon Press). The Poetry judges for the 2015 award were Chris Abani, Monica Hand, and Allison Joseph. ABOUT HURSTON/WRIGHT The Hurston/Wright Foundation is a literary organization that discovers, educates, develops, and mentors Black writers at pivotal stages of their literary aspirations. The Hurston/Wright Legacy Award is the first national award presented to published writers of African descent by the national community of Black writers. This award consists of prizes for the highest quality writing in the categories of Fiction, Nonfiction, and Poetry. Revising the Storm is available at the BOA Bookstore.
Purchase options
Select a purchase option to pre order this product
Countdown header
Countdown message