Past Contest Winners

The A. Poulin, Jr. Poetry Prize

Shame | Shame, Devin Becker [selected by David St. John]
Revising the Storm
, Geffrey Davis [selected by Dorianne Laux]
The Stick Soldiers
, Hugh Martin [selected by Cornelius Eady]
Litany for the City
, Ryan Teitman [selected by Jane Hirshfield]
Walking the Dog's Shadow
, Deborah Brown [selected by Tony Hoagland]
Beautiful in the Mouth
, Keetje Kuipers [selected by Thomas Lux]
Awayward, Jennifer Krovonet [selected by Jean Valentine]
The Boatloads
, Dan Albergotti [selected by Edward Hirsch]
Even the Hollow My Body Made Is Gone
, Janice N. Harrington [selected by Elizabeth Spires]
Falling to Earth
, Tom Hansen [selected by Molly Peacock]
The Eclipses
, David Woo [selected by Michael S. Harper]
Elegy with a Glass of Whiskey
, Crystal Bacon [selected by Stephen Dunn]
Big Back Yard
, Michael Teig [selected by Stephen Dobyns]

Devin Becker is awarded the 13th annual A. Poulin, Jr. Poetry Prize

Devin Becker is the winner of the thirteenth annual A. Poulin, Jr. Poetry Prize for his collection Shame | Shame. The collection was selected from nearly 500 manuscript submissions by renowned poet David St. John. Devin Becker will receive a $1,500 honorarium and book publication by BOA Editions, Ltd. in spring 2015.

Of the collection, David St. John says, “Devin Becker’s Shame | Shame is a brilliant debut collection. Here, the prose poem has been re-imagined as a cinematic vignette, yet rooted as deeply in the American Northwest as anything in Richard Hugo and David Lynch. Raw, intimate, and elliptical in its metaphysics, Becker’s poetry captures an idiomatic recklessness while navigating those angular narratives of our contemporary lives.”

Two finalists were also selected: Nostalgia for a World Where We Can Live by Monica Berlin, and Load Save Game by Briony Gylgayton.

Devin Becker holds degrees from Williams College, the University of California, Irvine, and Indiana University. His poetry and research articles appear widely in such places as American Archivist, Cutbank, Faultline, Microform and Digitization Review, Prairie Schooner, and Washington Square, among many others. He currently lives in Moscow, Idaho, where he works as the digital initiatives and web services librarian at the University of Idaho Library.

David St. John has been honored with many of the most significant awards for poets, including fellowships from The National Endowment for the Arts and The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, both The Rome Fellowship and an Award in Literature from The American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters, the O. B. Hardison Prize (a career award for teaching and poetic achievement) from The Folger Shakespeare Library, the George Drury Smith Lifetime Achievement Award, and a grant from the Ingram Merrill Foundation. His work has been published in countless literary magazines, including The New Yorker, The Paris Review, Poetry, American Poetry Review, Harper’s, Antaeus, and The New Republic, and has been widely anthologized.

The BOA Short Fiction Prize

Remarkable, Dinah Cox
Reptile House, Robin McLean
The Tao of Humiliation, Lee Upton
The Era of Not Quite, Douglas Watson

Dinah Cox is awarded the 4th annual BOA Short Fiction Prize

Dinah Cox is winner of the fourth annual BOA Editions Short Fiction Prize for her collection Remarkable. The collection was selected from more than 200 manuscript submissions by BOA Publisher Peter Conners. Dinah Cox will receive a $1,000 honorarium, and book publication by BOA Editions, Ltd. in spring 2016.

Of the collection, Peter Conners says: “‘The Telephone Museum is always empty.’ This single sentence, the first in Dinah Cox’s masterful story ‘Adolescence in B Flat,’ told me that this was a writer who demands close attention. It also speaks volumes about Cox’s debut collection as a whole. There is a knowing melancholy to her writing born when the arid remnants of Old West sensibility confront the sharp corners of sterile modernity. With precise detail and a poet’s ear for language, Cox reveals the psychological impact of straddling those two worlds as her characters grasp for compassion, last chances, and a foothold in an unknowable future.”

Two finalists were also selected: The Owl That Carries Us Away by Doug Ramspeck, and The Functions of a Story by John Vanderslice.

Dinah Cox’s stories appear and are forthcoming in such places as StoryQuarterly, Prairie Schooner, Salt Hill, Cream City Review, Copper Nickel, Beloit Fiction Journal, Quarterly West, and elsewhere, and have won prizes from The Atlantic Monthly and Hayden’s Ferry Review. She teaches in the English Department at Oklahoma State University where she is also an associate editor at Cimarron Review. She lives and works in her hometown of Stillwater, Oklahoma.